How can I improve my English listening?

#3


Believe it or not, purely because you are not a native speaker of English, your listening skills are already far better than if you spoke English fluently. Why? Because one of the most important parts of learning another language is being able to hear it, listen to it, understand it, and then….be able to speak it and write it!

The problems Non-native English listeners usually face are:

  • The speaking is too fast
  • The person is not using the correct grammar
  • There are too many unknown words in the discussion
  • The words are not pronounced fully
  • The listener feels completely lost about what is being talked about

So you are asking a very important question and I’ll be glad to help you.

Here are a few things you can do to practice:

  1. Make listening a daily habit: to something (outside of your class activities) a daily habit. These can be radio broadcasts, online chats, television programmes or simply taking time to listen to people speaking English in our world nearby. Anything you do, so long as you do it daily will improve your skills
  2. Get yourself an English listening CD and put it on in your car: Yes I know you would prefer to listen to music, but if you are studying English, your school will probably give you a CD to go with your textbook. Keep it on in the car and play it over and over while you are in the traffic jams, on your way to work, it will help you both in and outside of the class.
  3. Listen to English music: this is a really effective way to gain more English. Buy some music CDs from western artists you like and listen and even sing along with them. English itself has a rhythm and musical aspect to it, listening to music with English helps you with that. Listen to the music not only in your car, but at home while you are cleaning, at parties, at the gym and even if you are in a western restaurant, they will probably have English speaking music on in the background. (Just take a few moments to listen to it while you are enjoying your meal.)
  4. Download some Native English Speaking Podcasts: These are very good ways to practice your listening as you can simply rewind if you want to hear something again, plus you will be listening to something you have an interest in. Most radio stations have podcasts you can check up on.

Don’t forget to make a note of any new vocabulary in your notebook too, so you can ask you teacher tomorrow!

DYK #17.1


Helpful Links:


taylor-clark-leave-a-comment

7 thoughts on “How can I improve my English listening?

  1. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment
    (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any tips and hints for rookie blog writers?
    I’d genuinely appreciate it.

    • Hi Gabrielle, thank you for your positive comment about my blog, and sooooooo….sorry I didn’t reply earlier but your comment ended up in my Spam section and only discovered it just now, so I too like you are still figuring out all the features of this wordpress blog. In terms of your ‘rookie’ question, I would say that I am still a rookie, I’ve only been at this since May this year, so I can’t speak from a lot of experience. But what I can say is that I post everyday, I try to write about what I think is interesting and try to focus on my area – education and ESL. Also I take a lot of time to read other people’s posts too and like and comment when I feel I want to. Plus you do need to post your blog on all the social media around as this does bring in a lot more traffic. (Some people may block you because they are sick of you but don’t be alarmed, that’s life! Just keep on going with other people)

      I think you need to ask yourself why you are blogging. For me it is the fact that in this area of ESL I have had a lot of experience and a huge amount of stories and ideas to share that I think are useful and interesting to people. I also love to know what others think, so often I put in something (e.g. a poll) just to get a conversation started.

      I’m following you so are keen to see how things are going with you too….

      Thanks for the comment.

  2. Interesting! Leaning new words have always been burdensome for many students, as it is an abstract skill. Therefore, just learning new words without keeping it in the memory will put all your efforts in vain. So visit http://www.vocabmonk.com for learning new words with thematic learning, gamified way and also with personalized sessions. Be connected.

Leave a Reply

