What has been the most stressful event in your life so far? (Excluding deaths or divorces)

stress

(Photo credit: http://bit.ly/1f8aEku)

Okay for me this one comes from a moment that really was the ‘straw that broke the camel’s back”. There was quite a build up to it. I was about 28 years old and I was really at a crossroads in my life in terms of where I was going in all aspects of my life. I was sitting with a newly made close friend who finally divulged to me that a year before she had suffered a psychotic breakdown and was found wondering the streets of her hometown looking for the angels who were going to take her up to the special place. Well the angels did come (in the guise of 4 policemen in a police car) who did take her off to heaven (well it was all very white anyway – the psychiatric ward that is).

So you may think – what is so stressful for me about that?

Well something just happened and I realised I was surrounded by people who were or had just ‘gone down’. I realised I didn’t want to be one of those. I panicked and entered a very stressful time when I no longer wanted to find a direction, I had to find a direction….I started all kinds of things to get myself free…fortunately I did find my way out. I did get a teaching job which though was tough and difficult for me, was actually a good job, and was the best grounding experience I could get to get me back on track.

So that is the stressful part, and frankly I have never been back to that place and never will go back.

What about you?

Leave a Reply

