BEST ESL ADVICE: Always aim to come SECOND

second

(Photo credit: http://bit.ly/1ZnqrOV)

It’s so easy in a world that is so highly competitive that coming first or getting that Gold medal is the only thing that counts, but I hope you will understand, that first place category has a lot of dangerous elements to it.

  1. It may only come once
  2. It’s not forever
  3. It misleads you into thinking that you really ARE the best
  4. It misleads you into thinking that there is nothing more to learn

Even if you have come first at some point in your life, and you know these 4 points above are really true, for sure you will also have to admit that you believed you were invincible for more than a moment.

So I am setting out a challenge to all people who are learning English in particular, to never put yourself in a position where you are going to constantly be the best or win. My challenge to you is to try to find places in life (maybe work, school, business, environment), where you could categorically describe yourself as coming second.

So what is the beauty of always coming second?

It means that you are always in a position where you believe there is more to learn and achieve. Coming second should always be in the mind of the learner.

I can’t tell you how many people I have taught who after receiving the top mark in their class for English, have come up to me afterwards and asked me…’Teacher how can I improve my English’. I love that. It tells me that though they may have got the best in the class for that day…they always know there are greater challenges to meet, and it is that whole mind-set that will make them the best English speaker they can ever be.

2 thoughts on “BEST ESL ADVICE: Always aim to come SECOND

Leave a Reply

