ESL COUNTDOWN TO 2016! Strategic Review No. 3: How am I going to measure my success?

22

(Photo credit: http://bit.ly/1NiLgEN)

If you have completed the reviews for No. 4 and 5, you will see that you are now up to the ‘how am I going to measure this?’ point.

So let’s take a look at what you wrote last time:

e.g.

  1. Confidence in speaking English (4/10)

Benchmark: By the end of 2016 I would like to be able to give presentations at university in English with confidence.

 

  1. Confidence in reading English (3/10)

Benchmark: By the end of 2016 I would like to be able to read an adult novel in English.

 

  1. Confidence in writing English (4/10)

Benchmark: By the end of 2016 I would like to be able to write close to error-free essays for my university course.

 

Now you need to have a think about what you will need to do is work out how to measure this benchmark point.  Here are some examples based on the above points:

  1. Confidence in speaking English (4/10)

Benchmark: By the end of 2016 I would like to be able to give presentations at university in English with confidence.

Measurement: Ask my lecturer at university after I have given the presentation, not only how good was the presentation but how was the ‘English delivery’. Ask them to give you soe kind of feedback also.

 

  1. Confidence in reading English (3/10)

Benchmark: By the end of 2016 I would like to be able to read an adult novel in English.

Measurement: Complete a novel of choice (a minimum of 200 pages)

 

  1. Confidence in writing English (4/10)

Benchmark: By the end of 2016 I would like to be able to write close to error-free essays for my university course.

Measurement: Ask my lecturer at university to let me know at the end of the year not only the quality of the comments made in the essay, but also the quality of the English. How error-free would he/she consider it to be. Ask for a % point. E.g. 90% error-free.

 

Once you have a way to measure your success the next point in the review process will be much easier. Make sure you keep these notes on hand for the next post and next step in the process. So tune in to the next post for ESL COUNTDOWN for 2016 No. 2 coming soon!

Leave a Reply

