Malaysian Public Holiday No. 2: FEDERAL TERRITORY DAY – What’s it about?


(Photo credit:

Federal Territory Day is celebrated on 1st February every year in Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan. The date marks the anniversary of the formation of Kuala Lumpur Federal Territory, which took place in 1974.

Originally, Kuala Lumpur and Putrajaya came under the state of Selangor, and Labuan under the state of Sabah. The main motivation for the change from state rule to federal rule, particularly in Kuala Lumpur, was due to the events surrounding the 1969 elections and the riots that followed. Separating Kuala Lumpur from the state reduced the option of clashes between the federal and the Selangor state governments.

Happy Federal Day for those who celebrate it!

Thanks to:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s