Top 20 ENGLISH SLANG Phrases to start using NOW to sound like a real BRIT!

AIYSHAH'S ENGLISH PAGE

brit

(Photo credit: http://bit.ly/1xPaelm)

If you were brought up with great British television like myself (though I grew up in New Zealand not England!), these phrases will be no surprise to you, but if you are an ESL learner they can be really confusing. So I thought I would put them down and decipher them for you. There are many more (which I will write about later but here are the first 20 anyway!)

  1. Charlie – idiot

That guy is a real Charlie!

  1. Give you a bell

I’ll give you a bell on Friday night.

  1. Blimey – my goodness

Blimey! That was a great goal!

  1. Gutted – devastated

When he lost his job he was really gutted.

  1. Chuffed – proud

He was really chuffed when he passed his exams.

  1. Fancy – like

I really fancy a hamburger right now.

  1. Lost the plot – gone crazy

The driver really lost…

View original post 216 more words

2 thoughts on “Top 20 ENGLISH SLANG Phrases to start using NOW to sound like a real BRIT!

Leave a Reply

