UNRESOLVED ESL ISSUE No. 2: American or British English? – VOCABULARY

ok.png

(Photo credit: http://bit.ly/2c0buPh)

In this series of posts I’d like to raise a few ESL issues with you ESL teachers to find out your preference or your opinion.

Today the issue is Should students be learning American or British English in terms of WHAT certain words are used?

e.g.

pavement vs footpath

motorway vs highway

carpark vs parking lot

And so on. I have many students ask me – which should I use, and in particular in the IELTS exam, as the last thing they want is to lose marks because of this confusion.

So tell me, what would you say to your students if they ask this question?

Should I use American or British English vocabulary?

Leave a Reply

