Start somewhere, anywhere and your ENGLISH will CATCH UP

cat

(Photo credit: http://bit.ly/2fRtVv6)

This is a great rule of thumb for almost anything creative you do. The whole issue of getting started is often the hardest part, but if you think of it as starting from any point as an acceptable point, you’ll find the rest will fall into place. Well fall into something that’s useful for you!

So often I see the very conscientious student in class getting all the answers right and taking part in all the activities and trying their best but they are so used to using English in a routine way that when it comes to being out there in the big wide world, everything collapses. Why? Because there is no order and system to develop their conversation through. This is where it is important to understand that this is the reality of life and learning a language and you will never be able to gauge when and where any conversation will go, but one thing is for sure, if you start it or answer a question, you are going to go somewhere and some English will come to you in a way you hadn’t imagined.

I remember even myself living in a country where English was very much a second language or third, and though I never took a course in the language I did ‘pick up’ many phrases along the way to the point where I could ‘get by’. Then came a time when I was stuck in the middle of a jungle waiting for something (I won’t bore you with the details as to why I was there……sigh) and the only way I could communicate was in that language, these people knew nothing but that language. So I had to communicate somehow – I started with what I knew and basically stabbed in the dark from that point on. It wasn’t easy I have to say, but it was useful to know that I had to simply jump out there and the bits and pieces of the language I had stuck in my unconscious appeared like miracles before my eyes there to save me….well at least help me get through.

Same goes for English.  Just let that first word or phrase to come out and you’ll be surprised how it will lead to another and another. Then before you know it you’ll realise you know a lot more than you thought.

Why does this work? Because having that first point gives you a focus. If you don’t have that first point, unconsciously you don’t have any label to draw up everything and anything you know in your mind on that.

So give it a go and see how far you will get, you’ll be surprised where it will take you.

One thought on “Start somewhere, anywhere and your ENGLISH will CATCH UP

  1. Pingback: Start somewhere, anywhere and your ENGLISH will CATCH UP — AIYSHAH’S ENGLISH PAGE | Aptpedia

Leave a Reply

